Meet SBTHP’s new Maintenance & Security Supervisor, Iran Gonzalez

By Kevin McGarry

Since Iran Gonzalez joined the SBTHP team as our Maintenance & Security Supervisor in August 2023, El Presidio de Santa Bárbara State Historic Park and Casa de la Guerra have never looked better taken care of. Iran’s wealth of maintenance and security experience, as well as his wide range of construction and handyman skills, have already been put to very good use and have helped enhance the look and feel of the many historic structures and spaces in SBTHP’s care. Recently, Kevin McGarry, SBTHP’s Associate Director for Public Engagement, sat down with Iran to learn more about him; including his family story, his professional journey, what drew him to apply for his role at SBTHP, and what activities he enjoys when he is “off the clock.”

Tell us a little about yourself, your upbringing and family story.

I was born in Sinaloa, Mexico, but grew up here in Santa Barbara. My parents brought me to the United States when I was just one month old. My mother and stepfather were property managers which meant that we moved around the Santa Barbara area a lot when I was growing up. Every time we moved I went to a new school. I was a student at most, if not all the public elementary schools here in town. I went to Santa Barbara Junior High and then La Cumbre Middle School. As a freshman I attended Santa Barbara High School, and later San Marcos High School. I definitely know a lot of people all over town because of how many places I lived and how many schools I attended. I actually didn’t finish high school in Santa Barbara because at age 15, I moved out of California to Scottsdale, Arizona, where I lived with my aunt. I finished high school out there, but I missed Santa Barbara. I returned to live and work in Santa Barbara just after I turned 18. Santa Barbara is my home and I love it here.

What did you do professionally before joining the SBTHP team?

Before coming to SBTHP, I ran my own general construction, handyman service and maintenance company, full time, called AG Builders & Son’s Inc. I also owned and operated a private security company called AG Protection. I still own and operate these companies part time, outside of my full-time schedule here at the Trust.

Why did you choose to work at SBTHP?

I applied to be the Maintenance & Security Supervisor at the Trust because when I saw the job description in an advertisement online, I immediately knew that the role was what I was looking for. I knew I could do the job and do it well. The position jumped out to me because it was a good fit with my professional background and experience in the fields of construction, maintenance and security.

I also immediately felt connected to the history of this place, and I love learning about the history of Santa Barbara and the Presidio Neighborhood. I enjoy the responsibility of this role, and like that I get the opportunity to maintain, preserve, protect and enhance the beauty of these historic buildings and natural spaces here in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara.

Tell us something interesting or surprising about yourself we would never guess…

I love horses. On my days off, I go to a family friend’s ranch and ride my horse. I enjoy going to rodeos and “Jaripeos,” and I love bringing my son. We both wear cowboy hats and spend the whole day together. I love being with creating memories with my son. I try to take him on fun adventures in the great outdoors, regularly.

Leave a comment